Friday, March 1, 2024
32.2 C

Motloheloa retains CFL presidency


Chris Theko

The Chess Federation of Lesotho (CFL)President Tšeliso Motloheloa remains in the position after successfully retaining it during the association’s elections at Setsoto Stadium on Saturday.

Motloheloa retained his seat after edging his former Secretary-General Mokone Moshe who was the sole challenger for the position of president by two votes.

Motloheloa has been holding the position since 2008 however he was suspended in 2018 for allegedly misusing the funds from the World Chess Federation. He was later reinstated after charges against him were dropped because of lack of evidence against him.

He promised to work hard in the promotion of chess in the country and bringing in unity. 

“I have nothing much to say but the chess people have elected their committee, which includes people from all the camps and that means they are looking for unity. My wish is to see the committee working as a team to develop the sport,” Motloheloa said. 

He mentioned that regardless of his committee’s performance, this term will be his last in office. This is despite the fact that the CFL constitution does not limit the number of times for one to serve as committee member. 

The federation was meant to have held its elections in March this year, however, that was not to be the case due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Since Motloheloa’s leadership of the association in 2008 some of his achievements include the registration of the association’s constitution with the Law Office and its recognition by the Lesotho Sports and Recreation Commission (LSRC), African Chess Confederation (ACC) and the International Chess Federation (FIDE). 

In 2014 the federation sent two players namely; Masilo Mafube and Ramokotjo Lekau to the World Amateur Chess Championships in Singapore and from that same year Lesotho has been competing in the World Chess Olympiad. 

On behalf of the outgoing committee, Moshe was at hand to congratulate the winners but warned that the new committee has lots of work ahead of it. 

He said that they should beware of sitting in the offices with the aim of achieving their personal interests or seeking revenge on people in chess including their previous opponents who were challenging them in the elections. 

“The new committee members should now understand that they are there to serve all the people in chess including those who were opposing them in the run up to elections. They are also warned that they have a lot of work on their tables as far as the growth of chess is concerned,” Moshe said.

Motloheloa will be deputised by Teboho Cekwane while the new secretary general is Thoriso Morienyane.  The former Public Relations Officer Khiba Selatela will be the deputy secretary general for this term. 

Theko Khanyapa will be the players’ representative, the new treasurer is Mphetole Mona and additional members are ‘MaretÅ¡epile Malemoha, Motlatsi Motlokoa and Mohlekoa Mokemane.                    

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
click here for more

Latest article

Send this to a friend