Sunday, June 16, 2024
6.8 C

National chess team announced


Seabata Mahao

The Chess Federation of Lesotho (CFL) has revealed the 11-member national chess team set to compete at the upcoming African Youth Chess Championships (AYCC), scheduled for June 15-23 in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Chosen from the victors of a recent youth tournament held at Lancers’ Inn from May 18 to 19, the team represents the top talent identified by the federation for this prestigious continental event.

The squad is made of Bonolo Ntsielo, Pofane Matlali, Mohale Mokhameleli, Nteboheleng Thetsane, Kananelo Khakhane, Kamohelo Lintša, Mpoetsi Thamae, Thato Moorosi, Tšepo Letuka, Hlengiwe Phera, and Seeiso Mateisi, to represent Lesotho at the continental games.    

During the youth tournament, 105 players participated in the tournament, which had six categories, where winners in each category were awarded trophies and medals.

Ntsielo obtained position one in the under-18 girls’ category with 6.5 points followed by Thato Lekhooana with 3.5 points, while in the boys’ category, Matlali came out tops with 6.0 points followed by Mahummed George with 5.5 points and Likopo Liphoto with 5.0 points.

In the under-16 boys, Mohale Mokhameleli won with 7.0 points, Lebakae Mojakisane followed with 5.5 points, and Mokheseng Ranchobe with 5.0 points. In the girls’ under-16 category, Nteboheleng Thetsane won with 5.0 points followed by Belina Lekopa with 4.0, and Litšitšo Khoaisanyane with 3.0 points.

In the under-14 girls’ category, Khakhane won with 4.0 points followed by Katleho Tlalanyane with 4.0, and Thato Khapung. In the boys’ category of the same age, Lintša was the winner with 6.5 points followed by Abraham Meili with 6.0 points, and Liteboho Sello with 5.0 points.

In the under-12 girls’ category, Thamae won with 6.0 points followed by Tebello Matsoso with 4.0 points, and Bohlokoa ‘Mutla. In the boys’ category, Moorosi won with 6.0 points followed by Liteboho Thamae with 5.5 points and Junior Rasephei with 5.0 points.

Letuka won the under-10 boys’ category, won with 5.5 points followed by Molaoli Makoae with 4.5 points, and Fako Letsie with 4.0 points. In the girls’ category, Phera won with 7.0 points followed by Tiisetso Tšosane with 4.0, and ‘Masekhoane Lesela with 3.5 points.

In the under-8 level, Mateisi won with 5.5 points followed by Thapelo Moshesha with 4.0, and Renamg Dlukula with 2.0 points.  

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article

Send this to a friend