Saturday, June 15, 2024
3.5 C

It was a learning curve – NotÅ¡i


Seabata Mahao

The coach of the senior national football team, Leslie Notši said there were a lot of positives they picked from their recent 1-0 loss to Ivory Coast.

This after Likuena went down to the Elephants in their Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers in a match that confirmed their failure to qualify for the continental tournament. 

Following their defeat, Notši said there were some good attributes they took away from the match.

“We looked at the physical structure of the Ivory Coast players, which is quite good so our players saw their strength. This was a learning curve to the boys, me, and the technical team to go back and relook at the team structure and fix our team,” Notši stated.

Advocate Salemane Phafane KC, the president of the Lesotho Football Association (LeFA) said they were proud of the new Likuena’s performance and look to the future with confidence.

“I am very impressed in the manner that the team has been competitive in recent matches including the 2023 COSAFA Cup, where they reached the final, and followed it up with a brave performance against a powerhouse like Ivory Coast in their own backyard,” Phafane said.

The Likuena’s technical team had called up several new players and threw them into the deep end due to the absence of seven key players owing to injuries and other commitments.

Likuena went into battle without their key players including captain Basia Makepe, who has retired from international football; Motebang Sera, who is out with injury; Lisema Lebokollane who is also injured; Jane ThabantÅ¡o, Neo Mokhachane, Kopano Tseka, and Thabang Malane. 

Phafane also thanked the technical team and players for their hard work in representing the country with dignity whenever they are called up for national duty.

Likuena’s final squad for the Ivory Coast clash was as follows:


Sekhoane Moerane and Teboho Ratibisi.


Rethabile Mokokoane, Rethabile RasethuntÅ¡a, Motlomelo Mkwanazi, Rethabile Senkoto, ‘Mellere Lebetsa, Thabo MatÅ¡oele, Mohlomi Makhetha and Lebesa Lebesa. 


Thabo Lesaoana, Tshwarelo Bereng, Morena Moloi, Lehlohonolo Fothoane, TÅ¡epo Toloane, TÅ¡epang Sefali, Lepheana Mofolo, Teboho Letsema, Bonang Mohapi and Khubetsoana Kamela.


Katleho Makateng and Thabiso Mari.

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article

Send this to a friend