Thursday, February 29, 2024
12.6 C

New Ministers swearing-in


Mohloai Mpesi

Two Ministers and a Deputy Minster will be sworn-in at the Royal Palace in Maseru today.

The new ministers will be sworn-in following the unceremonious removal of two ex-ministers Keketso Rantšo and Prince Maliehe by His Majesty King Ketsie III at the advice of the Prime Minister Dr Moeketsi Majoro on Wednesday.

The removal of the two also triggered some movement as a number of other ministers and Permanent Secretaries have been shuffled.

Moshe Leoma has been selected to steer the Ministry of Labour while Lekhetho Mosito who is also Member of Parliament for Likhetlane constituency has been appointed to marshal the Ministry of Defence and National Security while Selemo Mangobe has been allotted to deputise Minister Samuel Rapapa at the Ministry of Local Government and Chieftainship.

The changes were announced in a press statement released yesterday from the Office of the Prime Minister.

The release went on to detail that many members of the Cabinet were reshuffled with the former Minister of Communications, Science and Technology Chief Thelese Maseribane given a new post at the ministry of Small Business Development, Cooperatives and Marketing.

The Premier changed the former Minister Small Business Development, Cooperatives and Marketing Keketso Sello to Communications, Science and Technology while Former Forestry and land Reclamation minister Motlohi Maliehe was substituted to ministry of Public Services, with Motlatsi Maqelepo coming from ministry of Health to Forestry and Land Reclamation with Semano Sekatle filling the ministry of Health slot.    

On the other hand, the previous Principal Secretary of Communication, Science and Technology ministry, Bereng Makotoko was relocated to the Small Business Development, Cooperatives and Marketing while Tankiso Phapano was moved from the Small Business Developemnt, Cooperatives and Marketing to the ministry of Communication, Science and Technology.

Thabo Motoko was transferred from the ministry of Public Service to Cabinet Administration while PS Mole Kumalo of Forestry Land and Reclamation was moved to the ministry Public Service, and Lefu Manyokole was shuffled to Forestry and Land Reclamation.

The former PS of Labour and Employment Emmanuel Lesoma changed seats with the PS of ministry of Police Matela Thabane. Lesoma was repositioned to ministry of Police while Thabane to the ministry of Labour and Employment.

Dr Mamoeketsi Ntho was shifted from the ministry of Tourism, Environment and Culture to ministry of Gender and Youth, Sports and Recreation whereas Dr Neo Liphoto was also removed from the Cabinet Administration to National Security Services and Moliehi Moejane removed from the ministry of Gender to tourism.  

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article

Send this to a friend