Monday, May 20, 2024
13.7 C

LDF Ladies crowned WSL champions


Seabata Mahao

LDF Ladies FC are the 2022/2023 Women Super League (WSL) champions after thumping Thaba-Tseka Ladies FC 4-0, in their final match of the season played last weekend.

The army ladies have blitzed their way to the title by winning all their matches, to take all the 54 points on offer from an 18-match season.

The LDF Ladies have been log leaders from the onset and ended the season with a massive goal difference of 106.

They went into their final match of the season having all but won the title with an unassailable nine-point lead over the second-placed Kick4Life Women.

Apart from LDF Ladies beating Thaba-Tseka Ladies 4-0, Basetsana beat LUCT Ladies 15-0, while Kick4Life won 1-0 against Berea Ladies over the past weekend.

Bantu Ladies played to a goalless draw with FC Stocko while Sky Battalion shared the spoils with Rovers FC in a 3-3 stalemate.  

WSL runners-up, Kick4Life, finished the season with 42 points and a goal difference of 54 while third-placed Basetsana United has 39 points and a goal difference of 46.

At the bottom of the log, Sky Battalion and LUCT have eight and four points, respectively.

On goal-scoring charts, Nthabeleng Potsane of LDF Ladies is the current top goal scorer with 22 goals, followed by ‘Maseriti Mohlolo of LDF Ladies with 19 goals.

Litšoanelo Matete of Basetsana United has 14 goals; while Puseletso Jobo of Kick4Life and ‘Makhotso Moalosi of Berea Ladies have 14 goals and 13 goals, respectively.

There will be no club relegated from WSL as there is no formal lower-tier structure in the ladies’ football to absorb those who are relegated.

The WSL currently has ten football clubs.

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article

Send this to a friend