Sunday, June 16, 2024
6.8 C

Likuena gears up for Zimbabwe, Rwanda challenges


Seabata Mahao

The senior national team, Likuena has announced a 23-man provisional squad as it kicked off preparations for their two upcoming 2026 World Cup qualifier matches this June.  

Likuena, which is drawn in Group C of the qualifiers will take on Zimbabwe on June 7 at Orlando Stadium in Gauteng, before facing Rwanda on June 11 at Moses Mabhida Stadium, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa.

The Lesotho Football Association (LeFA) this week said the bulk of the squad was made up of locally based players except for captain, Sekhoane Moerane, Tswarelo Bereng, and Teboho Letsema, who ply their trade outside the country.

“Other foreign-based players will join the squad at a later stage. Experienced defenders Kopano Tseka and Thabang Malane make a return to the squad after a long absence having last played for Likuena at the 2023 Confederation of Southern African Football Association (COSAFA) Cup,” LeFA said.

“The attacking line is made of players that will be battling for the golden boot as the curtain comes down on the Vodacom Premier League this weekend with Limkokwing University hitman, Lemohang Lintša, in pole position ahead of his competitors Jane Thabantšo and Tumelo Khutlang, who are also part of the squad.”

Likuena garnered two points from their first two matches in Group C, courtesy of draws against Nigeria and Benin. The team has been fine-tuning their strategies and assessing their readiness for the qualifiers by engaging in a series of friendly encounters against Ethiopia in March this year.

Below is Likuena’s provision squad including goalkeepers; Sekhoane Moerane who plays for Orbit College, Ntsane Molise (Linare FC), and Tankiso Chaba (LCS FC).

Defenders include Thabang Malane (LCS FC), Motete Mohai of (Matlama FC), Thabo Matšoele of (Bantu FC), Rethabile Rasethuntša (Linare FC), Rethabile Mokokoane (Matlama FC), Mokhele Molise (Linare FC), and Katleho Koeana (LMPS FC).

The midfielders are Lehlohonolo Matsau (LDF FC), Lisema Lebokallane (Linare FC), Thabo Lesaoana (Bantu FC), Tšepo Toloane (LDF FC), Lehlohonolo Fothoane (Bantu FC) Tšepang Sefali (Linare FC), Tumelo Khutlang (Lioli FC), Tswarelo Bereng (Orbit College FC), and Jane Thabantšo (Matlama FC).

The forwards include Lemohang Lintša (Limkokwing University FC), and Teboho Masuoane (Lioli FC).

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article

Send this to a friend